Wines of South America

 

I was invited out by a neighbour to The George Street Bistro  for dinner last night. I’ve. Never. Known. Anything. Like. It. It was heaven. I was dreading it. I’ve just come back to Perth after some time in Sydney, where i was staying with family, whilst we dealt with-something-I’m-not-ready-to-talk-about-yet-and-would-feel-exploitative-if-i-did. I was relieved to get home and spend some time alone, as I’d been living way-too-close-for-my-liking-in-a-small-suburban-house-trying-to-cope-with-aforementioned-topic-AND-share-a-house-with-4-other-people, and i had just been wanting, the whole time, to come back home, and lie on my bed, and cry by myself. The morning after i flew in, i was out the back, enjoying the sun, when my neighbour popped her head over the fence and invited me out to dinner to cheer me up.

So, it wasn’t JUST that i didn’t feel like it yesterday because of my needing to be alone, but that i don’t know my neighbour that well, she’s really talkative, I’m introverted, didn’t really feel like chatting, didn’t really feel like going out, rarely feel like going out, also have a kind of phobia about going out to dinner; don’t know exactly why that is. My family and I used to go out to dinner fairly regularly when i was growing up, so it maybe has something to do with having to sit through tortuously prolonged lets-pretend-we’re-all-happy-and-get-along-but really-your-mother-is-desperately-unhappy-and-you-can-feel-the-anguish-lying-heavily-within-her-aching-heart-and-see-the-misery-lurking-within-the-pained-eyes-of-each-family-member, so that i associate desperation and icky psychological memories and feelings, with going out to dinner. It also has something to do with feeling inferior –to whom- i do not know and a fear that i won’t have enough money to pay for the meal even though i always take more than enough and even though last night my neighbour was paying and thank life she was because i seriously,seriously never knew that food could cost that much.

Plus, I just wanted to stay in and watch season 3 of 30ROCK and Liz Lemon. Bleurgh.

liz-lemon-lights-up

Anyway, 7pm rolled around and my neighbour came and picked me up and i went out and had THE MOST BEAUTIFUL AND DELICIOUS FOOD I’VE EVER EATEN IN MY LIFE.

We were there, eating and drinking for 5 HOURS… Yummmy….

Anyway, here is the menu and the wines that went along with it.

Snapper Rissoles with Avocado

 

Casa Silva Sauvignon Gris Colchagua Valley, Chile 08

Smoked Chicken Ballotine on Quinoa, Sweet Corn Salad in

Annoto Seed Dressing with Tamarillo Jam

 

Casa Silva Grand Reserva Angostura Chardonnay Colchagua Valley, Chile 06

Colonia Les Liebres Bonarda Mendoza, Argentina 07

Double Baked Souffle of Topinambur

with Grilled Prawns in Red Wine Reduction

 

Casa Silva Reserva Gran Reserva Carmenere Colchagua Valley, Chile 06

Altos las Hormigas Malbec Mendoza, Argentina 07

Beef Rib Eye Roast in Chimmichurri Dressing with Currants and Thyme

Served on Sweet Potato Mash with Grilled Tomatoes

 

Belasco de Baquedano Llama Old Vine Malbec Mendoza, Argentina 05

Felipe Rutini Reserva Malbec Mendoza, Argentina 06

 

 

Passionfruit Ice Parfait with Chocolate Chilli Sauce

 

O:Fournier Urban Uco Torrontes Mendoza-Salta, Argentina 08

What say you?

