Life, post-semester antics

So, I have the Little Bear staying with me this weekend. We’ve both just finished a semester at uni; she her first and me my 4000th! I took her out to breakfast this morning at the Moores cafe in Fremantle to celebrate, then we dallied about town in free-wheelin holiday mode.

Tonight we’re cooking up a veggie lasagne storm and bunkering down for the season finale of Dr Who.

Vegetables being chopped on a chopping board

The lasagne has onions, garlic, grated carrot, grated zucchini, diced capsicum, 2 tins of diced tomatoes, a bottle of some red sauce stuff, a layer of slices of pumpkin and a layer of eggplant.

Garlic being crushed with a jar of  lemon butter

I finally found a use for the jar of lemon butter I bought from lovely Nannas outside the IGA. They were raising funds to build a school in Africa.

grated vegetables cooking in a saucepan on a stove

Fry the onion and garlic then chuck in the carrot, zucchini and capsicum – add herbs. I put in some dried Italian herbs, pepper, a little bit of sea salt. Cook until, you know – it’s cookedish.

Vegetables and Tomato sauce in a saucepan

 

spooning the mixture onto the lasagne sheets

Do the layering thing.

Ricotta cheese and spinach in a saucepan on a stove

Melt ricotta in fry pan – add lightly steamed spinach and blend!  

Blending the ricotta cheese and spinach with a hand-held blender

I put blended ricotta and spinach on top. I’ve never done it before so I hope it turns out o.k.

 Spooning the ricotta cheese and spinach mix onto a multi-layered lasagne

Gooey green goodness.

Vegetable lasagne covered in cheese. Sitting before it goes into oven

There is a layer of pumpkin and eggplant in there but you can’t see it. I will pre-heat the oven to about 180° and cook it for about 40 mins – or until it comes out all golden cheesy goodness.

While we wait I have a little query. The Little Bear has never taken much of an interest in blogs before but we realised last night she thought you needed an account to access them. I was like no, no, no, no no! I introduced her to Google Reader and suggested a few blogs for her to read; we added Hoyden About Town, Fat Heffalump, Corpulent, Scarleteen, Shakesville, Hot Guys Reading Books, Hot Guys with Cats and Hyperbole and a Half  just for starters. 

I am of course biased in very particular ways and her interests are far more diverse. So… who has bloggy suggestions for a 17 year old studying law, who enjoys philosophy, ‘looking at art’, theatre, daydreaming, cooking, food production, eating exquisite food; particularly pie in the winter (can’t imagine who wanted me to include that) also likes Dr Who, Torchwood, Skins, Misfits, British humour – a la Russell Brand and Catherine Tate who also likes to squee at cats? 

Anyways here is the final cheesy golden veggie lasagne.

A dish of cooked lasagne

 

What say you?

