Closure: I think our love is coming to an end.

I’m that person who just went and picked up their regalia for their graduation ceremony and started crying as they walked back to their car.

I finished my last unit November last year. I was thrilled, but that gradually faded as the humdrum of life reinserted itself. I haven’t been particularly thinking about the graduation ceremony at all – except that it’ll be a little boring for the friends I’ve invited along. I was an external student for most of my studies so I’ve mostly felt a little disconnected from the internal machinations of my units and from the university in general. I went to the library at times, and I went up to do exams, but in general  it’s been more ‘this is my thing and I do it on my own’. I thought I might not even attend graduation. Over the last year or so though, I decided graduation would be a good way to celebrate my achievements and honour that I got myself through. I didn’t expect to cry when I went to pick up the regalia, that’s for sure. I got a little overwhelmed, realising it’s all over – and I did it.

I’m happy I achieved it. It’s been 7 years of part-time internal and external study alongside full-time work. I’ve spent every semester weekend reading, researching and writing. I’m happy it’s over, but I’m also a little sad as studying is something I really enjoy. I got an invite to apply for Honors, but because I hate my job, I wanted to spend this year finding something I want to be doing. Plus, to do Honors I think you have to be internal and I just can’t afford it (rent!).

Anyway, I can’t believe it’s over – feeling a little overwhelmed.

In no particular order, for more of my whingeing, bragging about Uni, go Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here, Here and Here – horrifyingly, I realise it’s not even all of them, gah. 

20140217-160637.jpg

What say you?

