ruffled

From: Billie Mae
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 9:51 AM
To: Kleine Ale
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

Hey,

I have a MASSIVE favour… Can you ask your workmates – and you – how they pronounce this word – tousled – (they can’t look  it up in a dictionary)


From: Kleine Ale
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 9.54 AM
To: Billie Mae
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

See if you can open this link and click on the little arrow in front of the word and you should hear it

http://dict.leo.org/ende/index_de.html#/search=tousled&searchLoc=0&resultOrder=basic&multiwordShowSingle=on


From: Billie Mae
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 9:56 AM
To: Kleine Ale
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

Noooooooooo

I know how to pronounce it (now). It’s just that I heard it on an audio-book I’m listening to and I realised that my whole life I’ve mispronounced it. I wanted to see if other people do too…


From: Kleine Ale
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 11:43 AM
To: Billie Mae
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

 Looks like you would not pronounce the o in the word or not pronounce the u in the word.

Very funny going around the office and hearing all these different pronunciations of the word.

Made me laugh a lot.

How did you pronounce it?


From: Billie Mae
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 11:46 AM
To: Kleine Ale
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

Ok. So my whole life I’ve pronounced it “tossled” (like, toss a ball).

Then on my audio-book, it’s pronounced towzled (Tow as in cow)

I’m really curious to know how all your ppl pronounced it.  Did anyone else pronounce it like that?


From: Kleine Ale
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 11:53 AM
To: Billie Mae
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

Yeah..that’s what I meant with Tossled….we can discuss on the train later. 

But one person pronounced it towzled. Which according to the internet is correct.


From: Billie Mae
Sent: Thursday, 8 January 2015 11:54 AM
To: Kleine Ale
Subject: RE: oh goddddddddddddddddddd

 Yeah, towzled is the right way… : ) can’t believe it.

xx talk later  (thanks Google Kleine with your tousled, tossled, tussle surveying for me : )


What say you?

