my own private exhibition

I had the most incredible weekend. As I told you, I went snorkeling at a shipwreck near my house on Saturday morning and reconnected with a long-lost housemate. I cooked amazing food; roast tomato and capsicum soup, chilli-chicken and zucchini cous-cous salad with persian fetta, toasted sunflower seeds and pepitas (yeah, you know you want me). I drank beer, caught up with friends, wandered down to Freo arts centre and saw some live music. This afternoon I stumbled into an incredible art exhibition.

P1180089

There’s an old abandoned power station decomposing on the coast between Fremantle and Coogee. I was driving home as the sun was about to set and saw the tip of the building glittering between the trees. I thought it might be nice to see the sun setting through its broken windows so I turned off and parked on the footpath. I clambered up a sandy hill towards the building, and when I reached the top I was totally blown away.

P1180099The space was completely deserted. There was a very loud and eerie buzzing of electricity bouncing off the walls like an apocalyptic soundtrack. Perfect pick for perusing these gorgeous installations.

P1180106

P1180113

I assume I was wandering around in what must have once been the power station’s car-park. I was so blown away by it. It’s one of the most spectacular places I’ve ever encountered. P1180118

P1180109

P1180133The power station breaking down and all this gorgeous art on the walls.
P1180157

I was wondering about the artists. Who are they and what do they do? What do the pieces mean to them? I assume that they’re young men, and I was wondering what they’ll do in their future. Will they make art? Or will they get crappy jobs and have families and be too busy and tired, too disinterested to sneak out at night to light fires and make art on the walls of abandoned spaces?  P1180161

I find these kinds of spaces enthralling. Man-made constructions slowly decaying and nature snaking its way in. It’s kind of brutal and sad and joyful all at once. Makes me feel like it’s the end of the world. I found this piece quite apt.

P1180165

Leaving.

P1180172

2 thoughts on “my own private exhibition

What say you?

