NYE

I had a pretty special NYE. During the day, as you know, I was surfing. And my beautiful friend took some beautiful photos of me on his go-pro.

I wasn’t planning to go out but just past 11 he texted me and wanted to go grab some beers so I headed down to the beach. I got such a surprise when I got there. The beach and headland were swarming with people.

The fireworks had been going off all afternoon. We went and stood on the headland watching them. They’re not government funded fireworks, it’s just local people who buy them and set them off on the beach. It was really cool, ’cause the whole coast was lit up by fireworks. It was beautiful to watch. I was shocked when I looked at my watch and it was 12.05. There was no countdown at the stroke of midnight, so I completely missed it.

We went into the pub and danced all night, and drank a few beers. I had an absolute ball. Later, we went for a nudie swim. I haven’t done that in years. I was so shocked when I went home and it was 4am. I had to be up at 4 to get ready to go to the airport. My taxi arrived at 5am. I spent all of New Year’s Day on three flights, a bus, and a motorbike. I was SO FUCKING TIRED.

After negotiating three flights and three airports; all the checking in, checking out, customs, immigration, bla bla bla, I found a bus at Surat Thani airport to take me into town. When it dropped me off, I was meant to get a Tuk-Tuk to my accommodation, but there were none. So I was standing at the side of the road freaking out, with my surfboard and my back-pack, my carry on bag, and my handbag, just thinking fuuuuuuuuck! I can walk with my stuff, but I didn’t know where I was, or where I would be walking to.

Some old man on a moto rides up and asks me where I’m headed. I assume he’s a taxi driver, so I tell him. He tells me to jump on his bike, and I’m like ‘Huh??’ I point to my surfboard and he’s like, ‘yeah, yeah, get on’ (in Thai – I’m pretty sure that’s what he said). So I put my ‘carry-on bag’ in the basket at his handlebars. I have my backpack on my back, my surfboard strap over my right shoulder, and my handbag over my left shoulder. And off we go. My accommodation wasn’t too far away and he drops me off. I went to get money out to pay him because I thought he was a cabbie, and he’s like ‘no, no’ and drives off. Amazing.

I got to my room and slept flat out for 10 hours or so, so tired.

3 thoughts on “NYE

What say you?

